Home > Windows 7 > Install HyperTerminal in Windows 7

Install HyperTerminal in Windows 7

I was tasked to configure our Cisco routers for the three leased lines we got from the ISP. The problem I had was that connecting to a Cisco router via the console is no longer possible in Windows 7 since HyperTerminal was removed. Now, don’t get me wrong, Telnet I know is another option but these routers had been pre-configured and there is no other way I know to get into the IOS bypassing the implemented password (the dilemma of inheriting an existing network infrastructure without documentation). Hence, the need to install HyperTerminal. Here’s what I did:
 
1. From Windows XP copy:
      * hypertrm.exe from C:\Program Files\Windows NT\
      * hypertrm.dll from C:\Windows\System32\
    to the same folder location in Windows 7.
    Note: I was able to easily do this because I have Windows XP and Windows 7 in my laptop. 
 
 2. Create a shortcut for HyperTerminal on the Desktop if you wish and run the application.
 
 3. You will be prompted to make HyperTerminal your default Telnet program. Tick Don’t ask me this question again and Click No. Why No? Well, after I’ve configured the routers, I’ll be using SSH for remote administration.
 
4. You will be prompted this time to fill up the Location Information form. Click Cancel and click Yes to confirm the action then click OK to dismiss the matter.
 
5. Type your desired connection name in the Name field (I usually use console) and click OK.
 
6. You will encounter steps 3 and 4 again then you will be presented with the Connect To dialog. Under Connect using, select from the list the correct com port to use (in my case, COM7 via a USB Belkin portable com port where my console cable is attached) and click OK.
7. You will be presented next with the com port properties dialog. Click Restore Defaults and click OK.
 
 
That’s it! You’re now connected to your Cisco device. After bypassing the router’s password, here’s what I see after issuing the Cisco tech best friend command "show ip interface brief"…
 
 
 
Hope this helps
Categories: Windows 7
  1. December 29, 2010 at 7:40 am

    brilliant!

    some cool trance music here! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

