Home > Computers and Internet > Old school Hosts file to fix name resolution problems

Old school Hosts file to fix name resolution problems

For almost a week now, I have been trying to sign in to spaces.live.com to add a blog on Windows 7 but I end up being frustrated because I can’t login to the aforementioned website. I thought my ISP was again failing me. The funny thing about my problem was, I can login to MSN related services (i.e. Hotmail, MS Connect, etc) but not to the storage services (i.e. SkyDrive and Spaces). Mind you, I did OSI layer 7 troubleshooting but to no avail. I even thought of sending an email to MSN support regarding my problem then it all of a sudden hit me…what if I’d do layer 3 and layer 4 troubleshooting. I immediately fired up the Command Prompt and traced the route to reach auth.bay.livefilestore.com (c:\>tracert auth.bay.livefilestore.com). The trace returned a path leading to 127.0.0.1 which is the localhost; meaning, my machine. I followed up with a ping (c:\>ping auth.bay.livefilestore.com) that returned a reply from 127.0.0.1 that added to my frustration. I tried to query for auth.bay.livefilestore.com-c:\>nslookup auth.bay.livefilestore.comthat is shown as an error on the browser after attempting to sign in to spaces.live.com. The query fortunately returned with the FQDN’s IP address. I then queried for dl1.avgate.net and dl2.avget.net that returned their corresponding IP addresses. I queried for these sites as well because the Avira AntiVir Classic I got can’t update online. Now that I have the needed host addresses, I edited my machine’s hosts file (systemroot\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) hoping I’d be able to bypass 127.0.0.1. I added the following lines in the list:
 
 207.46.120.37  auth.bay.livefilestore.com   <<< for spaces.live.com and skydrive.live.com
 62.146.66.181  dl1.avgate.net   <<< both for Avira AntiVir Classic
 62.146.66.182  dl2.avgate.net   <<<
 
I saved the hosts file and tried signing in to spaces.live.com; am now able to add this blog as well as update Avira AntiVir Classic. By the way, I got PLDT WeROAM to hook up to the Internet.
 
Coming up next, my blog on how to provide Internet connection to a VPC guest OS using a loopback adapter.
  1. Raymond
    March 12, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I am trying to get win live to work and all I get is host file trouble all the time weird I think.It also says it cant see my digital id as well…

  2. today's gonna be agood day
    April 12, 2009 at 5:15 am

    wt u naim

  3. October 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    I do not create a leave a response, but I browsed some of the comments on this page Old school
    Hosts file to fix name resolution problems Techno-Cranio Idiocracy.
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be only me or do some of these remarks come across like they are left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d like to keep up with anything new you have to post.
    Could you post a list of all of your shared sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
    or linkedin profile?

    • November 8, 2012 at 10:36 am

      About the comments, there are times when I just leave them as it is; a reminder that there exists brain dead people 🙂

      I did have two other blog sites but Microsoft closed those; msforums.ph/blog and technetphilippines.net. For now, this is the only blog am currently writing on.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

